Brazil and United States pairs lead World Championship entries from FIVB World Tour

Lausanne, Switzerland, May 6, 2019 - Led by Brazil and the United States, 90 men's and women's teams from 38 countries representing all five confederations have qualified for the 2019 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships to be played from June 28 through July 7 in Hamburg, Germany.

Quick links: FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships Hamburg 2019
- Men’s teams list
- Women’s teams list
- Qualification process

The list of 45 players per gender includes the top men’s and women’s teams from the FIVB World Tour entry list along with the continental quota qualifiers from the Asian (AVC), African (CAVB), European (CEV), South American (CSV) and NORCECA (North, Central America and Caribbean) confederations.

With wild card entries to be announced, Brazil secured its four men's and four women's berths after finishing among the top 23 teams per gender on the FIVB World Tour entry list.  Points on the entry list are calculated by combining points of each player’s best four finishes among his or her last six events played on the international circuit.

The United States also qualified for four berths per gender, but only three men’s and four women’s pairs finished among the top teams on the FIVB World Tour entry list. The fourth American men’s team of Billy Allen and Stafford Slick qualified via the NORCECA continental process.

Germany secured six berths for Hamburg as the European country stages its second FIVB World Championships after hosting the 2005 World Championships in Berlin. German women gained four spots and the men one berth via the FIVB World Tour entry list.  Nils Ehlers and Lars Fluggen were awarded a host country spot as the second German men’s team in the 2019 FIVB World Championships.

Leading the Brazilian brigade are reigning FIVB World Championships champions Evandro Goncalves and Andre Loyola Stein, who are playing with different partners this season after winning the 2017 title together in Vienna.  Evandro is now teamed with 2015 FIVB World and 2016 Rio Olympic champion Bruno Oscar Schmidt while Andre is currently paired with George Wanderley.

Alison Cerutti, who was Bruno's partner at the 2015 Worlds and 2016 Olympics, also qualified with Alvaro Filho. Alison and Alvaro used a gold medal performance this past weekend in Malaysia to earn the fourth and final spot for a Brazilian men’s team. Alison also captured a gold medal with Emanuel Rego at the 2011 Rome World Championships.

Brazil's Alison Cerutti and Alvaro Filho qualified for the World Championships after winning the World Tour event in Kuala Lumpur last week.

Pedro Solberg, who placed third at the 2015 FIVB World Championships in the Netherlands with Evandro, also qualified with new partner Vitor Felipe.

On the women's side for Brazil, 2015 FIVB world champions and 2016 Rio Olympic silver medal winners Agatha Bednarczuk and Barbara Seixas have qualified for Hamburg 2019 with different partners.

Agatha is paired with Eduarda ‘Duda’ Lisboa with Barbara teaming with Fernanda Alves, who finished second at the 2017 World Championships with Taiana Lima. Other Brazilian women duos at the 2019 Worlds via the FIVB World Tour entry list are Maria Antonelli/Carolina Salgado and Rebecca Cavalcanti/Ana Patricia Silva, who have captured three gold medals this season.

Leading the United States entries for Hamburg will be past FIVB World Championship gold medallists Phil Dalhausser (Gstaad 2007 with Todd Rogers) and April Ross (Stavanger 2009 with Jen Kessy). Ross also captured a silver medal at the 2017 FIVB World Championships in Vienna as she and Lauren Fendrick dropped the title match to Germany's Laura Ludwig and Kira Walkenhorst.

April Ross and Alix Klineman lead the United States' women's teams qualified for the 2019 World Championships.

Clemens Doppler and Alexander Horst have also qualified for the 2019 FIVB World Championships. The Austrians won the silver medal at the 2017 worlds after losing the Vienna finale to Evandro and Andre. Viacheslav Krasilnikov and Nikita Liamin, the Vienna 2017 bronze medal winners have also qualified for 2019 via the FIVB World Tour entry list and are playing with different partners this season.

Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen will be the only team in the 2019 FIVB World Championships that won a world title together as the Dutchmen captured the 2013 crown by defeating Brazilians Ricardo Santos and Alvaro in the finale at Stare Jablonki, Poland.

Quick links - Beach volleyball:
Entries by country - Men
Entries by country - Women


All the News